Hot Doggin’ It

Oh my GOD! It’s like someone read my mind. It’s like God and Vienna Beef got together and said “I Love You Becky!”. But anyways before I have a joygasm – onto the food!

So Cincinnati’s *only* Chicago restaurant. MMM! Can you tell I’m bonkers about hot dogs? First time there I had the classic. The Chicago dog. No short of perfection. Poppy seed bun, Vienna Beef dog, mustard, neon relish, onion, tomato wedges, dill pickle spear, sport peppers, celery salt. How did I live in the midwest without these until 2009? I don’t know!

Second time I went there I had the classic Chicago dog and the Maxwell Street Polish sausage. A delicious Polish sausage on a poppy seed bun with sauteed onions and sport peppers with mustard. We also had Cheddar fries. The small is large enough to share. The cheddar cheese sauce that covers these fries is lava hot! When we were done we got a free ice cream cone. I didn’t ask whether that came with a meal or if we shamefully met some sort of dollar amount food threshold that entitled us to 2 free cake cones of tasty soft serve. Pat got the cheddar dog (just what it sounds like – lava hot cheddar sauce) and the Italian Beef sandwich. That sandwich looked tasty.

3rd time I had the polish sausage Chicago style. That is my best friend! I <3 Polish Sausage. Ok. . . relax…… Another aspect of the restaurant was their Local's Map. They have a large map of Chicago and native Chicagoans are encouraged to register yourself with their book of locals and you get a small pin to put on the map for your neighborhood that you're from. Such a sweet idea that really conveys the pride they have for their hometown. I can't wait to take my sister-in-law, a proud Chicago girl from Cicero. They proudly display Chicago sports team jerseys and several photographs of the Chicago hot dog culture. The decor is 50's diner style and there's a TV on to entertain you if you've popped in for lunch like I try to do. Seriously. I have been there 3 times in about 2 weeks. If you like a straightforward delicious hot dog – go. GO! Hot Doggin' It on Urbanspoon

2 thoughts on “Hot Doggin’ It

Leave a Reply

