Topolobampo

I was so excited to eat here. I didn’t care that I had to get up extra early for lunch. I didn’t care that I had to walk quite a bit in a freakishly cold May morning. I just wanted this food.

We were greeted warmly and seated promptly. We then ordered beer and appetizers. If you are at Topo I highly suggest their beer creation with Goose Island Brewery. Marisol is delicious and my new favorite beer. Incredible. We received a gratis course of guacamole. Very tasty, spiced nicely and salty. The way I like it!

We ordered the trio of ceviche. I was amazed. It didn’t look like a huge portion of ceviche when the brought it out, but it was very filling. The presentation was just beautiful.

The 3 ceviches featured were:

  1. Lime-marinated Hawaiian albacore with tomatoes, olives, cilantro, green chile; on crispy tostaditas. 
  2. Steamed Mexican blue shrimp & calamari, lime, orange, habanero, avocado, jcama & cilantro. Crispy tortilla chips.
  3. Sashimi-grade Hawaiian yellowfin tuna, avocado-tomatillo guacamole, tangy mango-grapefruit salsa

I ordered their soup which was a tortilla soup, but unlike any you’ve had. First of all it’s served table side. Your bowl has the little nest of tortilla crisps that are hiding chicken, sour cream and avocado. A hearty brothy delicious soup.

I ordered the Frijol con Puerco De Lujo . Which was Gunthorp heritage pork, three ways: Wood grill-roasted pork loin, black bean-braised suckling shoulder and belly, crispy chicharron. Black rice, fresh “cranberry” shell beans, scattering of xnipec salsa. So delicious. The beans were really smoky and delicious and the pork was perfectly cooked. I cannot tell you how excited I became when I saw the fresh chicharron.

Ann had the snapper which was delicious. I had a small bite and the fish could not have been more fresh. The rice with the carrot and pea looked really pretty and the sauce was a wonderful smoky mole type sauce. Very good.

I cannot really afford to go here often but I would love to. It’s just such a wonderfully elegant way to think about eating traditional Mexican food.

Topolobampo on Urbanspoon
Leave a Reply

